Good start of the day: Zucchini Fritata

Zucchini Fritata for Breakfast

Zuchinna Fritata

Until not very long time ago I belonged to that group of people, who only ate breakfast in hotels on a trip, or at work when I was working in a coffee shop and had an option of starting my day with freshly made granola and home-made yogurt. But most of the time I didn’t care to make myself breakfast in the morning at home, moreover I felt like if I eat in the morning (or until 2-3 pm for that matter), I would feel more hungry throughout the day. Oh, how wrong was I! After I started my 7-min workouts that turned into 15-20 min of daily exercises, I have completely changed my eating habits. Now I understand that eating a healthy breakfast gives you energy for the whole day, gives you strength for exercises and eliminates late-night food cravings after a light dinner.

So, here is an option for breakfast that can be cooked and eaten fresh or prepared in the evening the day before – Fritata with Zucchini.

Feel free to modify the amounts of vegetables because it is really a question of taste.

On a medium heat I spread a tsp of olive oil on a frying pan by using a silicone brush to avoid excess of oil e.g. fat, and fried, seasoning with fresh pepper and salt, 1/2 large zucchini, 1 carrot (regular, not baby carrots :)), 1 1/2 sweet paprika pepper – all cut in cubes and slices, not too thin, and 1/2 finely chopped onion (optional). I fried carrots for 2-3 min first and added the rest because carrots take longer for their structure to become softer. Set aside.

In a bowl, I mixed 2 eggs and 2 egg whites and whisked it fast for about 5 min until its consistency became visibly thicker. Added 1/3 cup 1% milk and 2 tbsp flour – and whisked until well-blended. Added fried vegetables to the eggs mixture, chopped a bunch if fresh parsley and added it too. Mixed with a spoon.

When your fritata mix is ready, spray your with some oil your baking pan or a frying pan (make sure there’s no plastic on it or a handle and if it can go into oven), then sprinkle it with some flour to creat an even thin layer on the bottom and sides – this way it will easily come off the pan and will keep a pretty shape. I used the same frying pan without handle I fried vegetable in so there was no need of greasing or spraying it.

Bake for 25 min at 180C et voilà!. This portion is enough for 2 people. It looks so pretty and tastes great! I’m calling it an egg-vegetable pie :) Serve with fresh green salad.

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

